[ ♡ ] A Gush of “French”

I’ve been tingling to work harder at dressing nice and caring for myself and my skin, especially with the humid weather outside but since my boyfriend’s been here, I haven’t had a chance to just sit down and relax and just read a good book. But we’ve been having a few rain storms lately and it’s put me back in the mood to treat myself to some me time.

Last month’s Vogue featured a Excerpt out of a book called, “ The House in France” by Gully Wells that I fell in love with. It’s a memoir about her days growing up in Europe and summer vacations in France as a young, impressionable girl who just wanted to grow up and I thought it was amazing. I just loved the way she talked in the story and I loved the idea of vacationing in seaside France. I’m going to go pick it up soon with my border’s 30% off coupon.

I also recently read a blog post by Fiona of How to be Chic called, “Being French” and I just thought, how fitting! I am feeling sort of French at the moment, trying to be natural, simple and chic.

There’s an especially compelling part in the post about using your good things and I just thought that was so cute. When I have my own home and my own things, I will definitely pull out the good china and use it once a week. I’m trying to think of what I have now that I consider “good,” and put away for special occasions but I can’t think of anything. I love having my stuff out in the open and not in storage because the more I see it the more likely I’ll be to use it so I don’t know if there is anything special I keep for later uses. I do have shoes that I reserve for special occasions like dinners but mostly because they’re too dangerous and painful to wear otherwise. I also have makeup that just sits in my drawers because I forget to use them or they’re just too colorful and too much for daily wear so I can definitely start there. I really have a collection of everything but nothing so special that I keep it hidden for special occasions but one day, when I do start to collect beautiful things, I will definitely take Fiona’s advice and take them out to breathe a little life into a dull week.

Credit: pictureimperfect.tumblr.com

♡ PaNhia

3 Comments on “[ ♡ ] A Gush of “French””

  1. Fiona says:

    Cool post and thank you for the mention. I have dinner party shoes also! That photo of Paris is dreamy, and the book you talk about looks very interesting as well. I will check it out.

  2. xti says:

    glad you’re back! i can help teach you a bit of french!

  3. jacquelineparis says:

    Love that picture-makes me want to jet back to Paris! I must pick up that book, thanks for the recommendation:)


Leave a Reply

