[ ♡ ] Harry Potter, College New Years & Icy parties

Hello again! It has been quite a while since I’ve updated but I have many excuses I promise! The weather has been crazy and two holidays have passed so I will be doing massive posts! First of all, I wanted to share my weekends starting a few weekends ago.

Two weekends ago, I had a crazy jam packed weekend! First and foremost was the Harry Potter Premier! We were going to hold off because of the busy weekend but late Friday night we decided to catch the 1130 showing!

Photobucket
Photobucket
The movie was awesome! I promised Choua that I’d tell her about the ending if she watched this one with me so she did lol and I told her the ending on the way home after Xti got out of the car. Anyways Choua is a bad movie watcher! She always wants to know what’s going to happen before anything happens and she screams really loudly (korea!)

Saturday we went to two Hmong New Years hosted by college groups. The first was Heritage day hosted by HMSA and they did a great job. They didn’t do the traditional new year. Instead they did this great long, elaborate play that had history, romance and heartache complete with bollywood style infused song breaks! The only bad thing was the lack of parking and the 3 block walk in the freezing cold to get to the building!

Here are some pictures from Heritage day!

Photobucket
Photobucket
^me
Photobucket
^we were literately in the last row in the back
Photobucket
^a semi-ok shot of the stage performance. We were so far back that it took a little photoshop work to get this picture to show up. I have a few cute videos that I’ll upload later. The best part of Heritage day was when PH asked for another eggroll in the food line and got flat out rejected lol!

After that we headed over to a new year dinner with a much more intimate feel. They also had more audience interaction activities.
Photobucket
^the room
Photobucket
^the welcome slide
Photobucket
^the bottom border for their programs
Photobucket
^my xmas tree made from centerpiece décor
Photobucket
^The ball toss game. I lost my shoes a few times.
Photobucket
^salavong!

After that awesome event and delicious food, we headed over to John’s for his birthday party.
Photobucket
^the girls!
Photobucket
^Toua’s awesome shirt lol!

It was a pretty ok and fun party, really relaxed. And we ate even more! Ace had his awesome eggrolls and eggroll sauce and we played a game of pi-pong-pa! I was coughing like crazy so I went out to grab some cough drops from my car when I noticed the bad turn in weather. It started to rain and pelt and I knew it was a bad idea to not be home. I went back in and stayed for a while before deciding to leave. I wanted to make it out before the weather got worse because it was really cold and I knew the rain would make the roads icy.

Turns out I was right because when I left, I had to take off my heels in the middle of the street to reach my car without ending up on my butt! It was so slippery but even then I didn’t know how bad it was! I drove off and started sliding towards my house but I still thought it wasn’t super horrible until I entered the highway. As soon as I entered the highway I knew it was a bad idea because everyone was sliding! Luckily my house wasn’t so far from the party!

But I still walked away with quite a fright and a scratched bumper. The exit to my house is sort of a downward curve after a long straight stretch so as I approached the curve, my car slid a few times over a few lanes. Once it hit the guard rail but I kept going back and trying because I was already so close to my house and it wasn’t like I was about to call my parents and risk their lives so I just kept going and sliding. Here is a visual of what happened:
Photobucket

Luckily no one was near me but people were sliding all over the place. After about the 3rd time slamming into the curb I figured out how to maneuver myself towards my house without that much more trouble. It was bad night to be out! Here is the damage to my car as a result of hitting the guard rail.

Photobucket
Photobucket

What a weekend!

♡ PaNhia

Leave a Reply

