[ ♡ ] Daily Outing – 10/25/10 Back in Class

I’ve graduated for over two months now and have not yet found a job in marketing. My current job in HR & Imaging at the U has made me secure enough not to look too hard but as my temp appointment is ending soon, I’ve been on the hunt for a new job.

I’ve recently been offered a job to market and process policies in an emerging Financial and Insurance firm and I decided to take it because I needed a job and because at least it still afforded me a marketing opportunity and can supplement my cash flow. To do this job I need a working knowledge of the industry and a certificate so they’re sending me to take an insurance liscensing class and today was my first day (one of the 2.5 days I’m required in attendance.)

Here are some snapshots of my morning:

This is a picture of my classroom:
Photobucket

This is my name tent (scratched out in pink of course)
Photobucket

And this is a picture of the itty bitty cups they had for coffee! Cute but kind of useless!
Photobucket

I was there from 8 am until 5 pm and my day was extra long because I had to run to the U this morning before class to turn in my time sheet as I do every Monday and then rush to class. Luckily the class was located only about 7 minutes from the U and didn’t take long to reach even in morning traffic!

It was a long 8 hour day (we had a one hour lunch) and I’m completely exhausted! I would have to say that I learned a lot though and am glad I’m all the more informed whether this will be a life career or sidestep. From a consumer’s point of view, it’s good information and will definitely make accidents a lot easier if you knew.

It’s very funny because insurance agents are always treated a bit cynically and people always assume them to be the bad guys that sell you what you don’t need; in reality, they’re selling you a security and a promise that believe me, you need. And I say this as an informed business graduate, not a potential agent (because I have no intention to sell.) I really think if people had adequate financial knowledge, they would know to buy insurance because it guarentees that your family and assets are taken care of. Yes it is an expense but you’re not dumping money into a black hole, it’s kind of like putting money away into savings. If you know how to calculate the present value of your premium, you’d be better able to assess whether or not your premium is palatable instead of immediately assuming they’re trying to sell you another thing you don’t need.

The insurance industry couldn’t survive if they were merely selling to sell. They really are offering you a good exchange of risk and money. Again, I’m not advocating, merely informing.

I have another long day tomorrow!

♡ PaNhia

Leave a Reply

